MotoTrials News...

NATC Announces Changes To National Mototrials Series

Beginning with the 2015 MotoTrial series the NATC has created new championships for the support classes.

AMA/NATC Eastern National Championship Series

AMA/NATC Western National Championship Series

Each of these series will crown a separate champion in all the support classes. The Eastern and Western series will consist of up to six rounds of competition which can be made up of one or two day competitions with each day counting as one round. Each series will have one throwaway when calculating the series overall finish positions.

Each of these Series will consist of the following classes: (New or rearranged classes in bold)

Expert Sportsman (ES)

High School (HS)

Women Expert Sportsman (WES)

Senior Expert Sportsman (40+) (SRX)

Sportsman (SP)

Women (WO)

Junior (JR)

Senior 40-49 (SR-40)

Senior 50-59 (SR-50)

Senior 60-69 (SR-60)

Senior 70+ (SR-70)

Senior Clubman (40+) (SRC)

Club Women (CW)

Clubman (CM)

Twin shock (TS)


These changes have been made to address the increasing cost of competing in a full national series. A competitor can now choose to compete in one series or the other or both. The competitive rider level should increase due to these changes, providing a more economical opportunity for riders to compete in the series.


With these changes we hope to see some old friends return and new ones appear, who find the joy of competing at the highest level for an AMA nationally recognized annual award. The Eastern and Western National series can be used as a stepping stone for the “up and coming rider” into the Pro and Expert classes in the National Championship Series and be a verification of their MotoTrial accomplishments.


The AMA/NATC National Championship Series will include all of the rounds of the Eastern and Western National Championship Series and will consist of the following classes:


Pro (PRO)

Expert (EX)

125 Expert (EX-125)


This series will also have one throwaway when calculating the series overall finish positions.


The year-end awards for the Eastern and Western Champions will be provided by the AMA at their Champions Banquet held each year.

Brad Baumert of the NATC explained, these changes are meant to help make the Championship series available to more trials riders across the country. If you look at the Eastern series for 2015 an individual could compete in the entire series and only use 1 week of vacation. If looking at the Western series you could compete in events using 1 week of vacation and a long weekend for the last competitions in Wyoming. This makes these AMA National championships more attainable than ever before.


Series Eastern and Western designations:


2015 National-(Pro & Ex)-10-Rounds / Eastern-(Support)-4-Rounds / Western-(Support)-6-Rounds

April 11-12 Texas- Western-Rds-1 & 2 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 1 & 2)

April 18-19 Arizona- Western-Rds-3 & 4 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 3 & 4)

June 13-14 Nebraska- Eastern-Rds-1 & 2 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 5 & 6)

June 20-21 Ohio- Eastern-Rds-3 & 4 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 7 & 8)

August 8-9 Wyoming- Western-Rds-5 & 6 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 9 & 10)


Youth East July 3-4-5 Tennessee

Youth West TBA


2016 National-(Pro & Ex)-8-Rounds / Eastern-(Support)-4-Rounds / Western-(Support)-4-Rounds

May 21-22 Florida- Eastern-Rds-1 & 2 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 1 & 2)

May 28-29 Tennessee- Eastern-Rds-3 & 4 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 3 & 4)

June 18-19 Colorado- Western-Rds-1 & 2 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 5 & 6)

June 25-26 Oregon- Western-Rds-3 & 4 (National-Pro-Ex-Rds- 7 & 8)


Youth East July 1-2-3 Tennessee

Youth West TBA